Options

How does Navision store time in SQL Server?

gaya3harigaya3hari Member Posts: 7
Hi,
I am very new to Navision. I am part of an integration team which is migrating data to and from navision to another database. My Navision setup is based on SQL Server. There is a column called "shipping time" in sales header. When I try to enter some data into that column through Navision, say "CD", the data getting stored in SQL Server is " ".. What does this exactly mean? Can any of you help on this context?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    If you look to field type, you can see that this field is DateTime. If in Navision it is Time type, the date part is set to "1.1.1754". If it is Date type in Navision, the Date part is the date and time is 0:0:0.

BUT in some cases there are fields with name "... Time..." but are defined as Decimal or Integer in Navision. In this case it is some number representing the time in no. of ms or seconds sience midnight.
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    Thanks but in my case, Shipping time is "date formula" in Navision and stored as "varchar(32)" in SQL Server.. So, what's the problem in displaying the date/time as it is...
  • Options
    fkofko Member Posts: 5
    DateFormula is not Date and not Time, it's some formula to count some date/time.
  • Options
    Because the value must be saved language neutral, it cannot use the characters. I looked into the data and see that each char (D,M,C etc.) is replaced with character with ASCII value 01, 02, 03 etc.

For example:

C = 01
    D = 02
    M = 05

in this case the '+1D-CM' will be saved as '+1{02}-{01}{05}'

where {xx} is char with ASCII xx. You must replace the characters back (if you use unicode the char code will be 00 01 etc...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    ok..from a book i read..
    "Date Formula internally is handled as an