Options

reliability of the Developer's Toolkit compare & merge t

navdev3navdev3 Member Posts: 32
I have read a number of posts from developers that indicate a preference for other compare and merge tools or for merging manually. Is the compare and merge tool in the Developer's Toolkit unreliable?

Comments

• Options
    DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,304
    It's not "not reliable", it has its limitations. I personally prefer to compare objects manually in text format, that just works quicker for me. I may change my mind if I actually try to work with the dev toolkit :)
  • Options
    Can you please provide some examples of these limitations? I am just learning to use the Dev Toolkit and would like to be aware of its limitations or pitfalls - specifically in the compare and merge tool.
  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    My exp. with NDT are not good. Some older versions had problem that when you exported the objects into .txt file, keys or some properties were missing. My last experience with some newer version was, that after export the syntax of the file was corrupted (missing some parenthesis etc.) and I was unable to import it into Navision.

I use text merging when I need and I know, what I am doing, what is the result. NDT is big BLACKBOX for me, where I am not sure, if result is what I want... :-) and when there is some problem, you are very limited in what you can do with that...

It is better to do merge 6 hours in text and be sure with the result, than do it 3 hours in NDT and spend 8 another hours solving problems "just because I spend 3 hours merging that, it must work..."... 8)
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,096