Hyper-V Server vs. Physical Server

couberpucouberpu Member Posts: 317
edited 2015-06-24 in NAV Three Tier
Good Morning,

I just started a new position at Sunrise, FL and I need help to clear several things:

1. The company is running NAV 2009 R2 classic with SQL option
We had a NAV VAR and an in-house solution provider!!!!
I am just an IT manager with some NAV background.

2. I was told that MS would not suggest to run under RAID-10 with SQL option
3. I was told that MS suggest to use simple recovery mode with SQL option
4. I was told that Hyper-V is a NO-NO for NAV 2009 R2 classic SQL option
5. I was told that SQL 2009 R2 enterprise is the only option to run 150+ GB database, with 55 users
6. I was told that RAID-1 is the only way to get best performance.
7. I was told ...

Can anyone help me understand if MS actual suggest any of these?
My personal view on any of these are :oops: :oops: :oops:

Please advise.

CouberPu

Comments

• bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    I have been supporting NAV since 1999. Besides being a developer, one of my primary roles is to assist customers with selecting their hardware for supporting NAV. I also have 20+ years of hardware integration experience. I find the answers above to be rather misleading.

1. This is an incorrect statement. RAID 10 is the preferred configuration for the drive holding SQL data files. This should also the a dedicated array. RAID 1 (or 10) is recommended for the SQL transaction log. These should be physically separate disk.

2. There is no preferred recovery method. Although I would say that full is the most common. The appropriate recovery method is the one that supports your recovery plan.