mibuso.com

Microsoft Business Solutions online community
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 12:58 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Microsoft Common Dialog Control 6.0 (SP3)
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 29
Location: G├╝tersloh
Country: Germany (de)
I imported some tables (from text format) and when i complile I receive the following error message:

"This message is for C/AL programmers:
The OLE control or Automation Server identified by
'Microsoft Common Dialog Control 6.0 (SP3)' .CommonDialog
Requires a design time license. This license cannot be obtained.
Make sure that the OLE control or Automation server is installed correctly with an appropriate license"

The control is registered, i have no ideea about what I should do to obtain a design-time license...
I have read another post on this forum regarding the same problem, but i did not understand exactly what the sollution is.

_________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
Leonardo DaVinci


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 2:08 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 7:50 am
Posts: 12441
Location: Brno
Country: Czech Republic (cz)
To add new variables for some OCX you must have design licence for this OCX. Common dialog library is OCX with licence. This licence is installed for example with Visual studio etc... it is some key in registry HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Licenses\...

Install visual studio and it is ok (or import apropriate reg file from installaction cd for visual studio... :-)


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 11:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 7:01 am
Posts: 2
Location: Houthalen
Country: Belgium (be)
You can also use codeunit 412 "Common Dialog Management".


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:00 am
Posts: 270
Location: Vilnius
Country: Lithuania (lt)
that is exactly the problem - codeunit 412 does not compile
could this problem be caused by having Visual Studio Beta2 installed on the same computer (probably due to update of CommonDialogs library - new service pack with more restrictive licence) ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:07 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 7:50 am
Posts: 12441
Location: Brno
Country: Czech Republic (cz)
if it does not compile, take the comdlg32.ocx and register it...

there is no problem for example with VS2005...

_________________
Kamil Sacek
MVP - Dynamics NAV
My BLOG
NAVERTICA a.s.


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:00 am
Posts: 270
Location: Vilnius
Country: Lithuania (lt)
the problem is comdlg32.ocx requires design-time licence.
to install the licence use the VB6Controls.reg file that can be found for example on Visual Studio CDs in Extras/VBControls directory
merge the reg file into windows registry and problem is solved


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 3:25 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 7:50 am
Posts: 12441
Location: Brno
Country: Czech Republic (cz)
But you need this license only if you want to add new variable into Navision. Not for compiling the codeunit 412...

_________________
Kamil Sacek
MVP - Dynamics NAV
My BLOG
NAVERTICA a.s.


Top
 Profile E-mail WWW  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 4:34 pm 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 5:11 pm
Posts: 9067
Location: 3rd rock from sun
Country: United States (us)
The way navision check for the license for the OCX is based on Control ID.
If it's in 1 through 1000, it doesn't give you the error.

Maually recreate codeunit 412, without copying and pasting, and you'll get the license error.

But if you copy and paste the function into a new codeunit, it will compile.

Navision errors if your variable are in one million range. If you export the object to text, you'll see that every variable e.g. text@10000000023 .

if you change it text@001, and they all have to be unique, you'll be able to use the ocx.

_________________
Rashed.

blog: http://mibuso.com/blogs/ara3n/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:23 pm
Posts: 60
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada (ca)
Codeunit 412 doesn't compile for me even if I didn't modify it. It's still the same object that came with Navision 4.0 SP1.
And yes, the OCX is registered.

I looked at the Control ID of the OCX variable and it is set at 1005.
I tried to change it to 400 by changing the properties of the variable and by exporting the object in text, changing the value and importing the text file in Navision and I got the following error both times:
"The variable ID 400 for variable CommonDialogControl is reserved for C/SIDE-defined variables only. The minimum ID number allowed is 1000."

Anything I'm missing?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:34 am
Posts: 2883
Location: Bergamo
Country: Italy (it)
yes, is Djou missing something?
I got the same issue!
someone can help plz?
OK, solved by copying 'n' pasting the variable...thanks BTW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft Common Dialog Control 6.0 (SP3)
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:34 am
Posts: 2883
Location: Bergamo
Country: Italy (it)
I've had this problem another time, and i didn't remember how to solve it...it's strange to find the same post to solve the same problem...i should have remembered this, i'm a donkey

0 0
/\
:shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Microsoft Common Dialog Control 6.0 (SP3)
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:10 pm
Posts: 7
Country: Germany (de)
Hello,

I've a similar Problem. On my System I can compile the Codeunit where I use the comdlg32.ocx. But on the Server (Windows 7 64 bit), where the ocx is also registered the Codeunit doesn't compile. It only compiles if I import as a FOB. As txt it doesn't compile. I have to import as a txt.

Is there maybe another ocx for the 64 bit System? Or have somebody another idea?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:59 am 
Offline
MVP Microsoft Dynamics NAV
NAV TechDays 2014 attendee

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 4:30 pm
Posts: 668
Location: Warnsveld
Country: Netherlands (nl)
kine wrote:
Install visual studio and it is ok

Strange: we have VS 2010 installed but are getting the error anyway. Did i maiss something?

_________________
Luc van Vugt, fluxxus.nl
Never stop learning
Van Vugt's dynamiXs
Dutch Dynamics Community


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 8:56 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Amsterdam
Country: Netherlands (nl)
lvanvugt wrote:
kine wrote:
Install visual studio and it is ok

Strange: we have VS 2010 installed but are getting the error anyway. Did i maiss something?


Judging from http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -us;318597, it needs to be Visual Studio 2005 or before.

_________________
Kind regards,

Jan Hoek
Sr. Software Engineer
www.idyn.nl


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to: